Tin House

Blog

Sign Up for News, Sales
& Events

TwitterFollow Us
Facebook
FacebookFollow Us
Tumblr
TumblrFollow Us
Podcast
PodcastFollow Us
RSS
RSSFollow Us

Pacific University Ad

Open-Bar-Ad

 

Tin House Galley Club: Eleven Hours

We surveyed our galley club members—here’s what they thought.

Posted in Tin House Books

Comments: 0

The 5 Best Childbirth Scenes in Contemporary Literature

So little fiction has been written about one of the most common of human experiences: childbirth.

Posted in Essays, Tin House Books

Comments: 0

Ghosts of Bergen County: An excerpt

There were no witnesses except the woman who’d been up all night…

Posted in Excerpts, Fiction, Tin House Books

Comments: 0

Six Ghost Stories

Ghosts in literature are often treated like hybrid elements: part character, part plot device, part setting.

Posted in Essays, Tin House Books

Comments: 0

Ghosts of Bergen County: An Interview with Dana Cann

The idea for this novel began, as many of my works begin, as a dream: a friend and I take heroin, shoplift in a mall, and are chased by store security.

Posted in Interviews, Tin House Books

Comments: 0

The Coyote’s Bicycle: An Excerpt

  For readers of Jon Krakauer and Susan Orlean, The Coyote’s Bicycle brings to life a never-before-told phenomenon at our southern border, and the human drama of those that would cross.   Prologue: EVERYBODY LOVES A BIKE   This is the story of several thousand bicycles that made an incredible journey. They were very ordinary, used bicycles. […]

Posted in Fiction, Tin House Books

Comments: 0

The Sleep Garden: An Interview with Jim Krusoe

Meg Storey: The Sleep Garden takes place mostly within an apartment complex called “The Burrow,” but a few characters do not exist in this space. Why did you choose to extend the story beyond the Burrow? Jim Krusoe: The Sleep Garden is a combination of two elements. At first, all I wanted to do was to find […]

Posted in General, Interviews, Tin House Books

Comments: 0

Michael: An Essay

It so happens that Michael Woodcock, whose painting St. Joseph’s Day appears as the cover of The Sleep Garden, also designed the cover of my first book of poems, a lifetime ago. It’s my hope that what follows will let others know how important he was to me and to everyone who knew him.  * […]

Posted in Essays, Tin House Books

Comments: 0

The Sleep Garden: An Excerpt

I • Where are we? How did we come here? Where are we going? • And anyway, who lies sleeping here with us? Wherever that is— I mean—wherever we are.   II • To begin: the Burrow is a low mound that rises out of the ground. It rests on what would be, if not […]

Posted in Fiction, Tin House Books

Comments: 0

The New and Improved Romie Futch: An Interview with Julia Elliott and Rachel Kaplan

Although many people see “sci-fi” and “Southern Gothic” as incompatible genres, combining the two seems natural to me because the contemporary South exists in the same technology-mediated world as other parts of the US, a world in which the internet inundates the mind with diverse forms of information and where the boundaries between science and sci-fi are often blurry.

Posted in Interviews, Tin House Books

Comments: 0

Jess Pane, Greenlight Bookstore

A book that I hand sell a lot is “The Boys of My Youth” by Jo Ann Beard. That book stops my heart. I have to pound my chest to get it going again.

Posted in Interviews, Tin House Books

Comments: 0

Winter Workshop Buoy: Lacy M. Johnson

As we continue to take applications for our upcoming fiction and nonfiction coastal workshops, we decided to check in with a few of our winter captains to get their perspective on the workshop experience. On the deck, our own Lacy M. Johnson, who will be teaching during Session Two.  Tin House: What can you tell […]

Posted in Interviews, Tin House Books, Workshops

Comments: 0

“Where Do You Get Your Ideas From?”

Fiction: Imagination working on experience.

Posted in Events, General, Tin House Books

Comments: 0

Haunted Reading

As I walked the eerily empty streets of downtown Spartanburg the evening before my reading, I imagined good old boys morphing into slimy reptiles, conducting human sacrifices, and wallowing in bloodbaths, their scales glistening with gore.

Posted in Essays, Tin House Books

Comments: 0

The Art of the Sentence: Padgett Powell

“The caterwauling bug song will abate as you do this.” –Padgett Powell

Posted in Art of the Sentence, Tin House Books

Comments: 0

The New and Improved Romie Futch: An Interview with Julia Elliott

Author Julia Elliott talks about dystopian satires, Southern gothic tall tales, brain enhancements, and fear-hog hunting in this Q&A with her editor.

Posted in Interviews, Tin House Books

Comments: 0

The New and Improved Romie Futch: An Excerpt

On a Friday evening in June, stoked by the awesome weather, Chip, Lee, and I were doing tequila shots on the patio of Noah’s Ark Taxidermy.

Posted in Fiction, Tin House Books

Comments: 0

St. Mark’s Bookshop

When I was 16 I discovered subculture and went at it voraciously.

Posted in Essays, Tin House Books

Comments: 0

Anmiryam Budner, Main Point Books

They are still touchstones for many women I meet; secret decoder rings of the bookish of a certain age.

Posted in Interviews, Tin House Books

Comments: 0

Dryland: An Interview with Sara Jaffe

Dryland launches today!

Posted in Interviews, Tin House Books

Comments: 0

Our Endless Numbered Days: A Summer Field Guide

How well do you think you would survive in the wild with only an axe and a knife?

Posted in Essays, Tin House Books

Comments: 0

Dryland: An Excerpt

He laughed. He said, That sign’s just there for the guys who come in to read porn. He made quotes with his fingers when he said read.

Posted in Fiction, Tin House Books

Comments: 0

The Scamp: An Interview with Jennifer Pashley

Debut novelist Jennifer Pashley talks about serial killers, Tori Amos, and listening in this Q&A with her editor.

Posted in Interviews, Tin House Books

Comments: 0

The Scamp: An Excerpt

One of the twins has his mouth sewn shut.

Posted in Fiction, Tin House Books

Comments: 0

Michael Keefe, Annie Bloom’s Books

I would love to spend the day of June 16, 1904 in Dublin, Ireland, looking over the shoulder of Leopold Bloom

Posted in Interviews, Tin House Books

Comments: 0