Tin House
From Our Blog: The Open Bar
By M Allen Cunningham | Nov 26th, 2014 - 07:00amGhost Coda: A Rilke Pilgrimage... Read More
TwitterFollow Us
Facebook
FacebookFollow Us
Tumblr
TumblrFollow Us
Podcast
PodcastFollow Us
RSS
RSSFollow Us
Sign Up for News, Sales
& Events

01234
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Coming Soon

The Boatmaker - By John Benditt

The Boatmaker

By John Benditt

A fierce, complicated, silent man wakes from a fever dream compelled to build a boat and sail away from the small island where he was born. The boat carries him to the next, bigger, island, where he becomes locked in a drunken and violent affair whose explosion propels him all the way to the mainland. There he works as a carpenter, struggles to stay sober, and attempts to understand the intricacies of a larger society and its dark underworld. After he is beaten and left for dead by two men he considered his friends, he is taken in by a charismatic priest whose mission is to cleanse the mainland of the corruption and impurities brought on by the current king. As the boatmaker’s journey takes him deeper into the layers of racial and religious hatred, he uncovers truths that allow him to redirect the course of his destiny.

Part fable, part allegory, The Boatmaker is a haunting and passionate story of love and the voyage of self-discovery. John Benditt’s debut novel will appeal to readers of Tinkers and The Plover.

To see more of our new and upcoming titles click here