Tin House

Faculty // 2005


Dorothy Allison

Dorothy Allison

Dorothy Allison is the best-selling author of Bastard out of Carolina, Cavedweller, and a memoir, Two or Three Things I Know for Sure.  She is the author of Trash, a collection of short stories; The Women Who Hate Me, a collection of poetry; and Skin: Talking about Sex, Class, and Literature, a collection of essays.

Aimee Bender

Aimee Bender

Aimee Bender is the author of five books: The Girl in the Flammable Skirt (1998) which was a NY Times Notable Book, An Invisible Sign of My Own (2000) which was an L.A. Times pick of the year, Willful Creatures(2005) which was nominated by The Believer as one of the best books of the year, The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake (2010) which won the SCIBA award for best fiction, and an Alex Award, and The Color Master, a NY Times Notable book for 2013.

Kevin Canty

Kevin Canty is the award-winning author of the novels Nine Below Zero and Into the Great Wide Open, as well as the short story collections Honeymoon and Other Stories and A Stranger in This World. His work has been published in the New Yorker, Esquire, GQ, the New York Times Magazine, and other periodicals. He lives in Missoula, Montana.

Ron Carlson

Ron Carlson is the author of eight books of fiction, most recently his selected stories A Kind of Flying, (W.W. Norton 2003) the novel The Speed of Light (HarperCollins 2003), and the story collection At the Jim Bridger (Picador paperback 2003). His short stories have appeared in Esquire, Harpers, the New Yorker, Gentlemen’s Quarterly, Epoch, the North American Review and other journals. He is Foundation Professor and Regents’ Professor of English at Arizona State University, where he directs the creative writing program.

Charles D’Ambrosio

Charles D’Ambrosio

Charles D’Ambrosio is the author of two collections of short stories, The Point and The Dead Fish Museum, which was a finalist for the PEN/Faulkner Award, and the essay collections Orphans and Loitering. He teaches fiction at the Iowa Writers’ Workshop.

Jeanne McCulloch

Jeanne McCulloch is an editor at the Paris Review and Tin House, where she is the editorial director of Tin House Books, the magazine’s new literary imprint. Her work has appeared in the New York Times, Vogue, Elle, the Paris Review, Tin House, and the North American Review. She has taught fiction writing at the New School for Social Research.

Chris Offutt

Chris Offutt is the author of the story collections, Kentucky Straight and Out of the Woods, the novel The Good Brother, and two memoirs, The Same River Twice and No Heroes. His work is widely translated and has received many honors, including a Lannan Award, a Whiting Writer’s Award, and a Guggenheim fellowship.

Whitney Otto

Whitney Otto

Whitney Otto is the bestselling author of How to Make an American Quilt (which was made into a feature film), Now You See Her, Beauties at the Height of Their Popularity and The Passion Dream Book. A native of California, she lives with her husband and son in Portland, Oregon.

Elissa Schappell

Elissa Schappell

Elissa Schappell is the author of the collection Blueprints For Building Better Girls, as well as the novel Use Me, which was a finalist for the PEN Hemingway award. She is co-editor with Jenny Offill of the anthologies, The Friend Who Got Away and Money Changes Everything. She is co-founder and editor-at-large of Tin House magazine, and teaches creative writing at NYU and in the the low-residency MFA program at Queens in Charlotte, NC.


Matthea Harvey

Matthea Harvey is the author of two books of poetry: Pity the Bathtub Its Forced Embrace of the Human Form (Alice James Books, 2000) and Sad Little Breathing Machine (Graywolf 2004). She is the poetry editor of American Letters & Commentary and a contributing editor for BOMB Magazine. She has taught at the Pratt Institute, the University of Houston, Warren Wilson, and currently teaches at Sarah Lawrence College.

Brenda Shaughnessy

Brenda Shaughnessy’s book of poems, Interior with Sudden Joy (Farrar,Straus & Giroux, 1999) was nominated for the PEN/Joyce Osterweil Award for Poetry, a Lambda Literary Award, and the Norma Farber First Book Award. Her poems have appeared in Best American Poetry 2000, Boston Review, Conjunctions, and the Paris Review. She is the poetry editor at Tin House and teaches poetry and literature at Lehman College/CUNY.


Nick Flynn

Nick Flynn

Nick Flynn has worked as a ship’s captain, an electrician, and as a case-worker with homeless adults. His most recent book is The Reenactments. His memoir, Another Bullshit Night in Suck City, won the PEN/Martha Albrand Award,  He is also the author of two books of poetry, Some Ether and Blind Huber, for which he received fellowships from, among other organizations, The Guggenheim Foundation and The Library of Congress.

Abigail Thomas

Abigail Thomas worked in publishing as an editor and literary agent for twenty years before morphing into a writer.  She has published two collections of stories, Getting over Tom and Herb’s Pajamas; a novel, An Actual Life; and three books for children.  Her most recent book is a memoir, Safekeeping: Some True Stories from a Life.

Special Guests

Denis Johnson

Denis Johnson is the author of several novels, plays, and books of verse. His novel Tree of Smoke won the National book award in 2007.

Francine Prose

Francine Prose is the author of eleven novels, including Blue Angel, which was nominated for a 2000 National Book Award. Her most recent books are A Changed Man, a novel;  After, a novel for young adults; Sicilian Odyssey, a travel book; The Lives of the Muses: Nine Women & the Artists They Inspired; and Gluttony, a meditation on a deadly sin. Her stories, reviews and essays have appeared in the Atlantic Monthly, Harper’s, Best American Short Stories, the New Yorker, the New York Times, the New York Observer, Art News, the Yale Review, the New Republic, and numerous other publications